Am I required to take
the pre-license course to obtain an Texas
Used Dealer License?
Automobile Dealer Training Association approved by the State
of Texas to provide Texas Used Dealer Pre-License Training?
have to take a test at the end of the class?
topics will we cover in the course?
are the classes held?
the price of tuition for the dealer training class?
have to take a course every year?
Who has to take the course?
class cover Federal dealer laws?
Ethics so important in this business?
more questions, what do I do?
Am I required to take the
to obtain an Texas Used Dealer License?
applying for an Independent Motor Vehicle Dealers GDN
(Dealer License) must take 6 hour web based training course.
The pre-licensing training requirement applies only to
dealers with an independent motor vehicle GDN. These dealers
are licensed to buy, sell, or exchange used cars, trucks,
motor homes, neighborhood electric vehicles, recreational off-road
vehicles (ROV), all-terrain vehicles (ATV), and utility
Most applicants for new licenses and
renewal applicants licensed less than 10 years on September
1, 2019 will be required to complete the one-time training.
Is the Automobile Dealer
Training Association approved by the State of Texas to
provide Used Dealer Pre-License Training?
NO. The Automobile Dealer
Training Association is NOT approved by the State of Texas
to provide your Used Dealer Pre-License Training. If
approved, at the end of your course you will receive an official Certificate of
Completion you will submit with your dealer license
Do I have to take a test at the end of the
There is a short quiz at the end of each unit. If for
some reason you fail a quiz, just study the answers
then take the quiz again. Texas law
requires you to watch the entire 6 hour training course, (3
hours for dealer renewals) in
order to receive a Certificate of Completion.
What topics will we cover in the course?
We will start the class with
an overview of the paperwork which you will need to gather
up and submit through the TxDMV eLICENSING system in order
to obtain your license. We will complete the process in your
course to ensure you are completing it correctly. You will
learn how complete tiles and how to gain access to the
online webDEALER system. Yes. The updated course
includes revisions to Texas dealer laws.
After the course you will be confident and ready to start &
operate your used Texas dealership. View an overview of class
topics on our
Where are the in-person classes held?
The new Texas law regarding dealer
training requires the course be taken online. There are no
in-person classes, the dealer training must be taken online.
It is just as easy as watching YouTube videos.
What is the price of tuition for the dealer
The tuition for the dealer pre-license course is $149.00
and the tuition for the dealer renewal course is $99. Each
person that completes the training course will
download a Certificate of Completion which you will submit with your
eLICENSING application and will be kept on file at the DMV
office in Austin.
Do I have to take a class every year?
No. At this time Texas has no continuing education
requirement for used dealers, however, dealers which were
licensed less than 10 years on September 1, 2019 will have
to take a one time renewal course.
Who has to take the course?
One owner or manager which is listed on the dealer license
application must take the course.
Does the course cover Federal dealer laws?
Yes. Failure to follow strict Federal dealer guidelines
could lead to extensive non negotiable Federal fines of
$25,000 per occurrence or more. The class covers important
Federal dealer topics such as Federal Trade Commission
Buyers Guide rule, GLB Privacy Act, Federal lending
compliance, driver privacy protection, nationwide commercial
codes, US Patriot Act, FTC Red Flags Rule, and more.
Why are ethics so important
in this business?
Operating an Texas dealership with ethics and integrity
will take you to the very top of the industry. You will
build your credibility your first few months in business. A
good, positive reputation will lead to more repeat business,
more referrals, and more profits. In your class we
will discuss the importance of operating your dealership
with the highest ethical standards.
I have more questions, what
should I do?
Call us at 800-369-2467, email
or complete our
We are here to help you start your Texas Used Motor
Delus Johnson-Lead Instructor